BLUSAS Forum » Freeview HD » FVP 4000T, 5000T

5000T Missing Recordings

(7 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    magooman1

    new member
    Joined: Nov '20
    Posts: 1

    offline

    MyHumax 5000T....is regularly missing recordings that are scheduled. Im sick of it & getting ready to jump manufacturers. If she says to me once more, "Humax hasnt recorded that episode of Corry St" I think I might throw a banana at her..

    Also most of the time the FreeView Play TV guide is 'MISSING INFORMATION' either on the hours to come or on hours past, no programs appear at any time slots. Its very frustrating that a product is not performing well regularly on its basic requirement functions.
    I thot, buy the best that is recommended, put out that bit extra, it will pay in the case of a tv recorder but no, so far feeling very let down by HUMAX 5000T..

    | Sun 1 Nov 2020 17:07:43 #1 |
  2. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 12,232

    offline

    magooman1 - 2 mins ago  » 
    MyHumax 5000T....is regularly missing recordings that are scheduled. Im sick of it & getting ready to jump manufacturers. If she says to me once more, "Humax hasnt recorded that episode of Corry St" I think I might throw a banana at her..
    Also most of the time the FreeView Play TV guide is 'MISSING INFORMATION' either on the hours to come or on hours past, no programs appear at any time slots. Its very frustrating that a product is not performing well regularly on its basic requirement functions.
    I thot, buy the best that is recommended, put out that bit extra, it will pay in the case of a tv recorder but no, so far feeling very let down by HUMAX 5000T..

    What software version does it have ? Have you got recording set to auto or have applied padding. If so set start and end time to auto. Padding removes the box ability to allow the broadcasters to auto start and end recordings (accurate recording).

    How is the box connected to your network. The backward epg is IP delivered.

    My 5000T records very reliably. Try a daily on power timer on BBC1-HD max volume at 08:00 with an off at 08:15. That should ensure the epg is fully populated when you boot the box.

    | Sun 1 Nov 2020 17:13:26 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Harters

    special member
    Joined: Mar '17
    Posts: 114

    offline

    For all its faults I can't remember the last time my 4000 has missed a recording.

    I have it to set to series record Coronation Street & Eastenders and it has never missed one episode.

    Do you have any duplicate channels in the 800 range as I understand that can cause problems?

    | Sun 1 Nov 2020 17:42:33 #3 |
  4. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 12,232

    offline

    Harters - 2 hours ago  » 
    For all its faults I can't remember the last time my 4000 has missed a recording.
    I have it to set to series record Coronation Street & Eastenders and it has never missed one episode.
    Do you have any duplicate channels in the 800 range as I understand that can cause problems?

    You are correct. Having the same channel from more than 1 transmitter also screws up the accurate recording system.

    Without the OP giving us more info. We can only guess. Perhaps add a public building postcode near by so we can check if 2 transmitter reception is likely.

    | Sun 1 Nov 2020 20:07:29 #4 |
  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Martin Liddle

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 3,236

    offline

    magooman1 - 2 hours ago  » 
    MyHumax 5000T....is regularly missing recordings that are scheduled. Im sick of it & getting ready to jump manufacturers. If she says to me once more, "Humax hasnt recorded that episode of Corry St" I think I might throw a banana at her..
    Also most of the time the FreeView Play TV guide is 'MISSING INFORMATION'[/b] either on the hours to come or on hours past, no programs appear at any time slots. Its very frustrating that a product is not performing well regularly on its basic requirement functions.

    Both of the problems you are reporting suggest that the Humax is not tuned correctly. I suggest you try a manual tune using the instructions in the FAQ at https://blusas.co.uk/forum/topic/manual-tuning-instructions-1 NB the first URL in those instructions is out of date; use https://www.freeview.co.uk/help Please come back with any problems following the instructions.

    Admin edit: URL amended, thanks.

    | Sun 1 Nov 2020 20:08:15 #5 |
  6. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 12,232

    offline

    Martin Liddle - 56 secs ago  » 

    magooman1 - 2 hours ago  » 
    MyHumax 5000T....is regularly missing recordings that are scheduled. Im sick of it & getting ready to jump manufacturers. If she says to me once more, "Humax hasnt recorded that episode of Corry St" I think I might throw a banana at her..
    Also most of the time the FreeView Play TV guide is 'MISSING INFORMATION'[/b] either on the hours to come or on hours past, no programs appear at any time slots. Its very frustrating that a product is not performing well regularly on its basic requirement functions.

    Both of the problems you are reporting suggest that the Humax is not tuned correctly. I suggest you try a manual tune using the instructions in the FAQ at https://blusas.co.uk/forum/topic/manual-tuning-instructions-1 NB the first URL in those instructions is out of date; use https://www.freeview.co.uk/help Please come back with any problems following the instructions.

    How would that explain the lack of any content in the backwards epg.

    | Sun 1 Nov 2020 20:09:46 #6 |
  7. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Martin Liddle

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 3,236

    offline

    grahamlthompson - 2 mins ago  » 
    How would that explain the lack of any content in the backwards epg.

    It wouldn't but it would explain failed recordings and missing programmes in the forward EPG. Problems with the backwards EPG can sometimes be fixed by specifying a DNS server other than the network router; easy to do if the Internet connection is via the ethernet port; a bit trickier if it is via WiFi.

    | Sun 1 Nov 2020 20:15:42 #7 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.