BLUSAS Forum » Freesat HD » HDR 1000, 1010, 1100S

Humax 1010S with Smart TV

(4 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    keithplatts

    new member
    Joined: Nov '20
    Posts: 2

    offline

    I have just replaced my (very) old TV with a Smart TV. I receive my TV signal via a satellite dish with 2 cables connected to the Humax box. The new Smart TV also has a satellite connector and decoder. Should I continue to connect both satellite cables to the Humax box, should I connect one to the Humax box and one to the TV satellite input, or do I need a third cable? If I do not connect to the TV's satellite input will I lose some of the TV's functionality?

    | Tue 3 Nov 2020 10:46:13 #1 |
  2. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 12,232

    offline

    The only thing you will lose is the ability to watch any 3rd freesat channel while recording 2 channels on the 1010s. Your lnb is near certain to have 4 outputs, easy to run a 3rd cable to the TV. Presumably the TV has a aerial connected if so you can watch Freeview-HD irrespective of what the 1010s is doing.

    The smart capability comes from connecting the TV to your home network.

    Using two cables with the 1010S gives the best recording capability. So use the two cables or simply add the 3rd cable.

    | Tue 3 Nov 2020 12:06:51 #2 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    keithplatts

    new member
    Joined: Nov '20
    Posts: 2

    offline

    Thank you for the advice. I don't have a TV aerial and rely entirely on the satellite dish. The reason I was considering the option of connecting one cable directly to the TV and the second to the Humax box was so that under normal day-to-day use I could watch TV and use any of the other functions without switching HDMI channel. If I want to record a programme (or watch one previously recorded) I could switch HDMI channel to the Humax box. I'm not sure if this arrangement would actually work. I could run a third cable, but the route from the dish to my TV is quite torturous and I don't think I will need the option of watching a programme and recording two others.

    | Tue 3 Nov 2020 15:04:38 #3 |
  4. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 12,232

    offline

    keithplatts - 1 min ago  » 
    Thank you for the advice. I don't have a TV aerial and rely entirely on the satellite dish. The reason I was considering the option of connecting one cable directly to the TV and the second to the Humax box was so that under normal day-to-day use I could watch TV and use any of the other functions without switching HDMI channel. If I want to record a programme (or watch one previously recorded) I could switch HDMI channel to the Humax box. I'm not sure if this arrangement would actually work. I could run a third cable, but the route from the dish to my TV is quite torturous and I don't think I will need the option of watching a programme and recording two others.

    The Humax box can use both tuners with only a single cable on lnb1 in. It has to be set to single cable mode (A freesat re-tune will detect only 1 cable and enable the internal link). This of course means that there are some combinations that cannot be accomodated). The software will not let you make impossible recording reservations.

    see

    https://blusas.co.uk/forum/topic/what-can-i-record-and-watch-using-1-or-2-cables-2

    This means you can use the second cable to connect the TV.

    Suggest you try running the box in single cable mode for a week or so.

    | Tue 3 Nov 2020 15:13:58 #4 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.